Friday, December 9, 2011

What to Read Next?

Winter Break is approaching. At our house, it means we'll play lots of board games, put together some puzzles, watch movies and most importantly - read, read, read.

I usually have a big stack of books all ready to dive into by now. But I've been so crazy with life and other things, that I find myself unprepared. So here I am, asking my readers for suggestions.

I love to read books that are either funny, have a romance element, or the characters and plot are the kind you just can't put down because they're so incredible. Authors I love - Carly Phillips, Ally Carter, Elana Johnson, Richelle Mead, Melanie Jacobson, Heather Justesen . . . and the list goes on and on and on. I think the common thread here is the romance. But honestly, I love discovering new authors with a unique voice, awesome characters, and stories I don't want to walk away from.

What book would you recommend for my Winter Break reading list?

6 comments:

Melissa J. Cunningham said...

I love the Shiver series, the Matched series, James Daschner's series. LOVED I am not a Serial Killer series. Oh, girl! There are so many to choose from!! I could go on and on and on and on...you get the picture! LOL

Danyelle Ferguson said...

I've read Matched & Crossed and everything by James Dashner up to The Maze Runner. So I could put the last two books on the list. Haven't read I am not a Serial Killer. My hubby thinks it will give me nightmares. =) I'll check into the Shiver series though.

Thanks, Melissa!

Jolene Perry said...

Fixing Delilah By Sarah Ockler

The Unwritten Rule by Elizabeth Scott

The Name of the Star by Maureen Johnson

Lock and Key, and The Truth About Forever by Sarah Dessen.

Good luck finding some awesome books!

kbrebes said...

I loved VARIANT by Rob Wells, but the last page is...frustrating, but you get over it.

I've got my stack next to me and it's huge...about 50 books. Leviathan (westerfeld), The First Year (Liechty), Graceling, Before I Fall, I Capture the Flag, Daughter of Venice, Bound (Bryant), Bound (Napoli, Hatchet, The Smile, The Skull of Truth, Possession, House on the Hill, Imprints, Dragonskin Slippers, My not so Fairy Tale Life, Just One Wish, My Fair Godmother, The Magic Thief, Frederica, The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks, The Shadows, Lock & Key, City of Bones, Hush Hush, Maximum Ride, all Ally Condie's LDS books, Dashner's last two books, Hooked, Character Emotion, 20 master plots, etc and all the ones on my Kindle!!

Kelley said...

Hmmm, not sure we have the same taste in books but I'll add my two favorites of the year to this list:

Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor (Seriously inspired me to be a better writer. So beautifully written. Love story. Fantasy. Yum. :))

Divergent by Veronia Roth. (Like Hunger Games but way better, IMO. People will probably shoot me now for saying it... :))

Tamera Westhoff said...

The Rhea Jensen series by Sheralynn Pratt! You can borrow them if you want to (since it would only be fair)! I'm coming up next weekend!

Review Disclaimer: Sometimes a book I review has been sent to me for free by a publisher or an author. This in no way effects my review, which is my own opinion about whether the book was a good read for me, fit my tastes, and if I would recommend it to others. Other than possibly a free book, I am not compensated in any way for posting a review.